Jump to the beginning of content

Content Header

Background Information

   
Address : 2 Bridges Street, Central
Site Area : About 640 sq. m.
Gross Floor Area : About 950 sq. m.
No. of Storeys : 3 Storey (G/F, 1/F, 2/F & Roof)
Year Built : 1953
Grading of Building : Grade 3
Current Management Department : Food and Environmental Hygiene Department
Present Uses : Market
Future Possible Uses* :
  • Information centre (e.g. heritage resource centre, Central and Western Heritage Trail information centre, "Conservation Central" projects information centre)
  • Recreational and cultural facilities (e.g. rehearsal venue for drama or opera establishments)
  • Exhibition and convention facilities (e.g. photo exhibition of Hong Kong's history, exhibition of Dr Sun Yat-sen's activities)
  • Shops and services (e.g. retail gift shop, visitor information centre)
Layout Plans : (This link will open in a new window)Click here to download

* Applicants are welcome to come up with other suggestions on the possible uses.

(This link will open in a new window)Photo of Bridges Street MarketThe building of Bridges Street Market is located at No. 2 Bridges Street, Central. It was built under the auspices of the then Urban Council after World War II to replace the old markets which had been destroyed during Japanese occupation, with a view to meeting the demand of the rising population. It was constructed and commenced operation in 1953, housing 26 stalls for selling fish and poultry on the G/F and 33 stalls on the 1/F mostly selling beef, pork, fruits and vegetables. It was the first of its kind built in Hong Kong's urban areas after World War II. Part of the 1/F was converted into an indoor children's playground in 1969 connected by two link bridges to Wing Lee Street. Bridges Street Market has served the community for almost 60 years and is remembered by local residents.

The Market partly falls on the old site of American Congregational Mission Preaching Hall (now named as China Congregational Church) where Dr. Sun Yat-sen lived and received baptism. The Mission was founded by an American missionary, C.R. Hager in 1883. Dr. Sun Yat-sen was baptized in the church in the same year and given the name "Yat-sun", which was later changed to "Yat-sen". He also lived on the third floor of the building in 1884-1886 when he was studying in Central School. In 1901, the church was relocated to No. 68 Bridges Street.

ARCHITECTURAL MERITS

The Market is a two-storey utilitarian building of reinforced concrete frame construction built in the International Modernist style. This style of architecture is generally accepted as originated in Germany by the Bauhaus school of art in the 1920s, and its main characteristics, which can also be found in the Market, were asymmetry, severe blocky cubic shapes, smooth flat plain undecorated surfaces often painted white, the complete elimination of all mouldings and ornament, flat roofs, large expanses of glass held in steel frames on the elevation, and long horizontal streamlined bands of windows. Very free planning was made possible by the adoption of reinforced concrete post-and-slab construction with flat slab floors and a flat roof-slab carried on concrete columns thus enabling partitions to be erected freely as desired, as they played no part in the structure bearing function of the building.

The front elevation of the Market facing Bridges Street is an asymmetrical composition with the main entrance recessed on the left side flanked by a panel of Shanghai plaster grooved to resemble masonry. Above this panel there is a large grid pattern window which illuminates the internal staircase. The remainder of the elevation is a plain painted rendered wall featuring two horizontal streamlined bands of windows with projected horizontal sun-shading concrete fins. The rear elevation and side elevation are similar to the front elevation in design. A small penthouse on the roof provides accommodation for a caretaker and coolies.

Internally, the ground floor plan consists of open fronted stalls with white glazed tiled partitions separated by aisles. The upper part of the walls and the beams and ceiling are painted white. A staircase in the corner beside the main entrance leads to the first floor. There is an entrance with a link bridge at the east elevation to connect the first floor of the Market to Shing Wong Street. The remaining part of the first floor is used as an indoor children's playground which is connected to Wing Lee Street by two link bridges.

跳至內容

Content Header

背景資料

   
地址 : 中環必列者士街2號
用地面積 : 約 640 平方米
總樓面面積 : 約 950 平方米
層數 : 三層(地下、一樓、二樓連天台)
建成年份 : 1953
評級 : 3級
現行管理部門 : 食物環境衛生署
現行用途 : 街市
活化後可能用途* :
  • 資訊中心(例如:文物保育資訊中心、中西區文物徑資訊中心、「保育中環」項目資訊中心)
  • 康樂及文化設施 (例如:劇社排練場地)
  • 展覽及會議設施 (例如:香港歷史照片展覽、孫中山先生史蹟展覽)
  • 商店及服務行業 (例如:零售紀念品商店、旅客資訊中心)
平面圖 : 此連結將會於新視窗開啟按此下載

* 公眾可就可能用途提出其他建議。

此連結將會於新視窗開啟Photo of Bridges Street Market必列啫士街街市位於中環必列者士街2號,二次大戰後由當時的市政局興建,以取代在日佔時期遭受破壞的舊街市,以及應付當時人口增加的需求。街市於1953年興建及啟用,地下設有26個檔位,售賣魚類及家禽,一樓則設有33個檔位,主要售賣牛肉、豬肉、生果及蔬菜,是二次大戰後本港市區首個同類型的街市。1969年,一樓部分地方改建為室內兒童遊樂場,並加建兩道連接橋接駁至永利街。近六十年來,必列啫士街街市一直為市民大眾服務,是區內居民回憶的一部分。

必列啫士街街市的一部分為美國公理會佈道所(現稱中華基督教會公理堂)舊址,孫中山先生亦曾於該處居住和領洗。佈道所由美籍傳教士喜嘉理牧師於1883年創立;同年,孫中山先生在該教會領洗,獲賜號「日新」,其後改為「逸仙」。孫中山先生於1884至86年就讀中央書院期間,亦曾在佈道所三樓居住。教會其後於1901年遷往必列者士街68號。

建築價值

必列啫士街街市樓高兩層,是一幢以鋼筋混凝土構架興建的建築物,設計以實用為主,屬國際現代主義建築風格。這種建築風格一般認為源於1920年代德國的包浩斯藝術學院,而其主要特色亦能在此街市找到,包括建築物設計布局不對稱,整幢建築物為一大立方體,牆身平滑簡樸,通常髹上白漆,全無任何模塑或裝飾,採用平屋頂設計,並在立面裝有鋼框大玻璃幕牆,以及長形流線型窗戶。建築物以鋼筋混凝土支柱及樓板建成,並以大小混凝土支柱架起無樑板地台和天台樓板。由於內部間隔並非結構的一部分,因此可靈活設計,在有需要的地方自由加建間隔。

街市正面面向必列者士街,正門入口設於左面,向內凹入。設計布局並不對稱。正門旁邊飾有上海批盪鑲板,上面刻有坑紋,模仿磚石建築。鑲板上方築有大型窗格,為室內樓梯引入陽光。街市正面其餘部分為素色抹灰牆,牆上有兩排流線型窗戶,上面伸出橫向混凝土突簷。街市背面和側面在設計上與正面相似。頂層設有細小的房間,為管理員和雜役提供宿處。

在室內布局方面,地下一層劃分為多個開敞式檔位,以白色瓷磚鋪面的間隔分開,檔位之間設有通道。牆壁上面的部分、橫樑及天花均髹上白漆。建築物一角近正門的位置設有樓梯,通往一樓。在東立面上,則有一個入口及連接橋以接駁街市的一樓及城皇街。該樓層的餘下部分則用作室內兒童遊樂場,並以兩道連接橋接駁至永利街。