Jump to the beginning of content

Content Header

Declared Monuments in Hong Kong - New Territories  
99 main
 
Fortified Structure at No. 55 Ha Pak Nai, Yuen Long

Built around 1910, the fortified structure at No. 55 Ha Pak Nai, Yuen Long is the only remaining building in Hong Kong with solid evidence of having direct connection with the revolutionary movement under the leadership of Dr. Sun Yat-sen (1866-1925) and his compatriots.

With its advantageous location overlooking Deep Bay and Shenzhen, No. 55 Ha Pak Nai was an operational base of the revolutionary movement.  A place of refuge for the revolutionaries under the cover of a rice mill and sugar refinery was set up around 1910 at the site after the Mutiny of the New Army in Guangzhou. A fortified structure was also built at the site to keep watch on the area across Deep Bay, which was then under the administration of the Qing authority. The fortified structure was built by Mr. Tang Yam-nam (1846-1923), who was a core member of Hsing Chung Hui (Xing Zhong Hui). The site was mainly owned by Mr. Li Ki-tong (1873-1943) who joined Hsing Chung hui in 1900 and was a son of the wealthy businessman Mr. Li Sing (1830-1900).

Architecturally, the fortified structure in Ha Pak Nai is essentially a functional structure for surveillance. It is a two-storey rectangular structure built of grey bricks with a mezzanine floor between the first floor and the roof. A staircase bulkhead is found on the flat roof. Gun loops at various levels on the elevations can still be found. Internally, the plain rooms have screeded floors. To serve defence purposes, tapered and recessed window openings allowed a greater viewing angle from the inside of the building.

The Antiquities and Monuments Office will provide display facilities at the site in the second half of 2011.
Plan

(This link will open in a new window)DM99 resize


Photo
991 s
    
  1 | 2 Enlarge  

Address

 
No.55 Ha Pak Nai



Transport

Green Minibus (GMB)
  
33 Yuen Long (Tai Fung Street) - Ha Pak Nai

 
btn back

跳至內容

Content Header

香港法定古蹟 - 新界  
99 main
 
元朗下白泥55號碉堡

位於元朗下白泥55號的碉堡約建於1910年,是香港唯一有確實證據證明與孫中山先生(1866至1925年)及其革命黨人領導的革命運動有直接關係的建築物。

元朗下白泥55號俯瞰后海灣和深圳,處有利位置,因此成為革命活動基地。1910年左右,廣州新軍之役結束後,革命人士於該址建立藏身之處,並以稻米磨坊和煉糖廠作掩護。碉堡亦用以監視后海灣對岸屬清廷管轄的地方。碉堡由興中會的骨幹分子鄧蔭南先生(1846至1923年)所建。碉堡所在土地曾經主要由李紀堂先生(1873至1943年)所擁有。李紀堂先生於1900年加入興中會,是富商李陞先生(1830至1900年)之子。

在建築方面來說,下白泥碉堡是一座以實用為主的構築物,主要作監視用途。碉堡樓高兩層,為一長方形構築物,以青磚修築而成。一樓與天台之間設有閣樓,天台建有伸出的梯間結構。外牆上下各處仍有槍眼。內部房間設計簡單,以砂漿鋪地。為了達到防禦的目的,碉堡設有錐形凹入式窗口,令該建築物從裏面外望的視野更為廣闊。

古物古蹟辦事處將於2011年下半年於碉堡附近安放展示設施。
圖則

此連結將會於新視窗開啟DM99 resize


相片
991 s
    
  1 | 2 按此放大  

地址

 
下白泥55號



交通

專線小巴
  
33 元朗(泰豐街)- 下白泥

btn back