Jump to the beginning of content

Content Header

In response to the Heritage Conservation Policy, we have implemented the following package of initiatives:

* (This link will open in a new window)Conducting heritage impact assessment for new capital works projects
* Implementing the Revitalising Historic Buildings Through Partnership Scheme for Government-owned historic buildings
* Providing economic incentives for preservation of privately-owned historic buildings
* Facilitating maintenance of privately-owned graded historic buildings
* (This link will open in a new window)Setting up a Commissioner for Heritage's Office
* (This link will open in a new window)Taking forward heritage conservation and revitalisation projects
* (This link will open in a new window)Setting up the Built Heritage Conservation Fund


Conducting heritage impact assessment for new capital works projects

To ensure a balance be struck between the requirements for development initiated by Government and heritage conservation, project proponents and relevant works departments for all new capital works projects are required to consider whether their projects will affect sites or buildings of historic or archaeological significance. If the answer is in the affirmative, then a Heritage Impact Assessment will be required. Mitigation measures should be devised and the public should be engaged.

Information on Heritage Impact Assessment



Implementing the Revitalising Historic Buildings Through Partnership Scheme for Government-owned historic buildings

To adopt creative approaches in preserving historic buildings and expanding their usage, with a view to transforming these buildings into unique cultural landmarks. The modus operandi of social enterprise under commercial management will be adopted to achieve a win-win situation. The Government provides financial support as appropriate to render the scheme practicably feasible.

Information on Revitalising Historic Buildings Through Partnership Scheme



Providing economic incentives for conservation of privately-owned historic buildings

To address the threats of demolition of historic buildings for redevelopment, the Government has come up with attractive and effective administrative means to prevent privately-owned historic buildings from being demolished. The Administration has been actively engaging relevant stakeholders in devising appropriate measures including land exchange and transfer of development rights to compensate these owners for their loss of development rights.

(This link will open in a new window)Information on Preservation of King Yin Lei



Facilitating maintenance of privately-owned graded historic buildings

Government carries out repair and restoration works for declared monuments, or items deemed by Government to be monuments under private ownership. Since 2008, Government has expanded the scheme to also assist owners of private graded historic buildings to carry out repairs and regular maintenance works

Applications are considered on a case-by-case basis, subject to the technical assessment of an inter-departmental vetting panel and availability of funding. Factors such as the historic value of the building concerned and urgency of works will be considered. As a condition for financial assistance, the owners are required to agree to certain conditions, e.g., to allow reasonable access of the buildings concerned to the public.

Information on Financial Assistance for Maintenance Scheme



Setting up a Commissioner for Heritage's Office

To deal with this extensive subject, to raise the Government profile and visibility on heritage conservation matters, and to provide the focal point for local and overseas networking, Development Bureau has created on 25 April 2008 the post of Commissioner for Heritage who is supported by a certain number of staff.

Information on Commissioner for Heritage's Office




Taking forward conservation and revitalisation projects

There is community-wide consensus that we should revitalize historic buildings. In 2009, the Government announced the “Conserving Central” initiative, which comprises eight innovative projects to preserve many of the important cultural, historical and architectural features in Central while adding new life and vibrancy to the area. Two of the innovative projects, i.e. the former Police Married Quarters on Hollywood Road and the Central Police Station Compound, are implemented by the Commisioner for Heritage’s Office.

Information on Heritage Conservation and Revitalisation Projects



Setting up the Built Heritage Conservation Fund

The 2016 Policy Address announced the setting up of the Built Heritage Conservation Fund with $500 million earmarked to implement the recommendations of the Antiquities Advisory Board pursuant to its policy review on the conservation of built heritage. The Built Heritage Conservation Fund was established in 2016 to provide subsidies for public education, community involvement and publicity activities, and academic research apart from covering certain existing government initiatives and activities on built heritage conservation including the Revitalising Historic Buildings Through Partnership Scheme and the Financial Assistance for Maintenance Scheme. In 2017, two new funding schemes for public engagement projects and thematic research were launched under the Fund.

跳至內容

Content Header

因應前述的文物保育政策,我們推行一系列的保育措施:

為新的基本工程項目進行文物影響評估
在政府擁有的歷史建築推行活化歷史建築伙伴計劃
為保存私人歷史建築提供經濟誘因
協助私人擁有的獲評級歷史建築進行維修
設立文物保育專員辦事處
推展文物保育及活化項目


為新的基本工程項目進行文物影響評估

為了確保在政府提出的發展需要與文物保育之間取得平衡,所有新基本工程項目的倡議者和相關工務部門,均須研究工程項目會否影響具有歷史及考古學價值的地點及建築物。若有影響,便須進行文物影響評估,訂定緩解措施及邀請公眾參與。

有關文物影響評估


在政府擁有的歷史建築推行活化歷史建築伙伴計劃

採用具創意的方法保存歷史建築,擴闊其用途,運用創意把這些建築物轉化為獨一無二的文化地標,並採取社會企業的營運模式,同時注入商業管理元素,務求達至雙贏的效果。政府提供適當的財政支援,令計劃切實可行。

有關活化歷史建築伙伴計劃


為保護私人歷史建築提供經濟誘因

為解決歷史建築遭受拆卸重建的威脅這個問題,政府採用具吸引力及有效的行政方法,防止私人擁有的歷史建築遭到拆卸。當局積極讓有關持份者參與訂定合適措施,包括換地和轉移發展權益,以補償業主失去之發展權益。

此連結將會於新視窗開啟有關保護景賢里資料


協助私人擁有的獲評級歷史建築進行維修

政府向法定古蹟或將會成為法定古蹟的私人物業,提供維修及修復工程。自2008年起,政府把計劃擴大以協助已評級的私人歷史建築的業主進行修葺和定期保養工程。

當局視乎跨部門評審小組進行技術評審的結果,以及有否經費,按個別情況審批申請。有關建築物的歷史價值和工程緊急程度等因素,均會考慮。作為給予資助的條件,業主須同意若干條件,例如在合理程度上開放建築物予公眾參觀。

有關維修資助計劃


成立文物保育專員辦事處

為專責處理這項範圍廣泛的工作,同時令政府在文物保育方面的角色更廣為人知,並建立本港和海外聯繫網絡,發展局已於2008年4月25日開設文物保育專員一職,並由若干人員支援。

有關文物保育專員辦事處資料


推展文物保育及活化項目

將歷史建築物活化已成為廣泛的社會共識。於2009年,政府公布了「保育中環」措施,由八個饒富創意的項目組成,目的是保育中區的重要文化、歷史及建築特色,同時為區內增添活力和姿采。文物保育專員辦事處推展其中兩個創意項目,分別是荷李活道前已婚警察宿舍和中區警署建築羣。

有關文物保育及活化項目資料