Jump to the beginning of content

Content Header

Background Information

   
Address: 45 Stubbs Road, Hong Kong
Site Area*: About 4,910 m² (including outdoor area)
Gross Floor Area*: About 1,735 m²
Year of Construction: 1937
Settings:

The complex of King Yin Lei comprises a main building, an annex block, a garage, a subsidiary building, a pavilion, a swimming pool and etc.

The main building is basically a three-storey building with verandahs overlooking the courtyard. The top floor and the side wings are hip-and-gable roofs. The annex block is a two-storey building with a number of rooms connected by a verandah. The main building and the annex block are connected by a passageway. The single-storey subsidiary building with classical Chinese pyramidal roof in quadrangular shape and humpbacked roof is connected by corridors to the square-shaped pavilions at both ends. The one-storey hexagonal pavilion has two entrances and a classical Chinese double-eave pyramidal roof in hexagonal shape. The first level of the two-storey garage is for car-parking and the second level is for residential purpose. Its roof is a classical Chinese luding roof (a four sloped roof with a flat central portion).
Land Use Zoning: “Other Specified Uses” annotated “Historical Building Preserved for Cultural, Community and Commercial Uses”
Grading of Building: Declared Monument
Current Management / User Departments: Commissioner for Heritage Office, Development Bureau
In Use or Vacant: Vacant
Layout Plans: (This link will open in a new window)Click here to download

* The areas given above are indicative only.

HISTORICAL BACKGROUND

Originally named “Hei Lo”, King Yin Lei was built by Mr. Shum Yat-chor and Mrs. Shum Li Po-lun in 1937. Mr. Shum Yat-chor was a notable merchant and philanthropist in Xinhui of Guangdong Province. The building was sold in 1978 to Mr. Yeo (Yow) Chei Man and his son Mr. Yow Mok-shing, who renamed the building as "King Yin Lei". The building was resold to its previous owner in August 2007.

The building has been a popular spot for taking photographs by visitors. The mansion has been featured in films of international renown such as "Soldier of Fortune" (1955) and a locally produced television series "Delightful Dream of the Capital" (1980).

As the Peak area was a traditional residence of foreigners, the location of King Yin Lei symbolizes the rise of the Chinese merchant class. It also represents an earlier phase of Hong Kong history when the upper-class residential area took shape in the Mid-levels.


ARCHITECTURAL VALUE

The main building follows the traditional three-side layout of a courtyard house commonly found in South China. This kind of layout comprises one central hall and two wings with an open area facing south. A screen wall is built at the south of the open area to form an internal courtyard. Different from traditional courtyard houses, the wings are slightly tilted away from the central house, instead of being perpendicular to it, to widen the internal courtyard.

The main chamber and the two wings of the main building have hip-and-gable roofs, which is considered to be roof features of high hierarchy in traditional Chinese architecture. They feature a full set of traditional Chinese ornaments which includes a pearl in the middle of the ridge on main roof, as well as other ornaments in geometric style. Chinese architectural decorations constructed in concrete like Chinese bracket sets, lintel and joint brackets are adopted at the under-eave along roof edges.

The external walls of the main building and the annex building are made of distinctively fine red fair-faced brickwork. The interior floors are finished with marble tiles, timber floorings and mosaics laid in various patterns. Windows with Chinese pattern metal muntins and grano finished window casings are adopted on the elevations. A grid pattern supporting system is used for the beams of the main halls on various storeys. For the round chamber to the west of the ground floor, a concentric radiating pattern is in place, imitating the coffer ceiling of traditional Chinese palace architecture.

Apart from traditional Chinese ornaments, advanced building techniques can also be seen throughout the building. For instance, a comprehensive surface water system was designed to run underneath in order to prevent rain water from washing off the surface and damaging the retaining walls. Moreover, reinforced concrete was used to replace the traditional wooden structural roof members.

In view of the richness and details in Chinese architectural features and the Western architecture's influence in structure, material and plan, this historical residence could be most probably defined as an outstanding work of Chinese Renaissance style that reflects the design and construction excellence in both Chinese and Western architecture in Hong Kong's pre-war period.


BUILDING STATUS AND RESTORATION WORKS

King Yin Lei was originally a private property. Works to remove the roof tiles, stone features and window frames were noticed on site in early September 2007. To save the building from further damage, the Development Bureau took urgent action to declare King Yin Lei a proposed monument on 15 September 2007 and subsequently a monument on 11 July 2008. In 2008, the Chief Executive in Council approved the proposal for a non-in-situ land exchange so as to preserve and revitalize the historic building. Under the land exchange, the owner surrendered the whole site of King Yin Lei to the Government for exchange of an adjacent man-made slope site of roughly the same size to the owner for private development. Apart from paying full market value premium for the land exchange in accordance with the established policy, the owner was also required to carry out and fund the restoration works of King Yin Lei to the satisfaction of the Antiquities and Monuments Office (AMO). The restoration works commenced in September 2008 and were substantially completed in December 2010. Government then took over the management of King Yin Lei.

(This link will open in a new window)Photo of King Yin Lei 1
 
(This link will open in a new window)Photo of King Yin Lei 2
 
(This link will open in a new window)Photo of King Yin Lei 3
 
(This link will open in a new window)Photo of King Yin Lei 4
 
(This link will open in a new window)Photo of King Yin Lei 5
 
(This link will open in a new window)Photo of King Yin Lei 6
 
(This link will open in a new window)Photo of King Yin Lei 7
 
(This link will open in a new window)Photo of King Yin Lei 8
 
(This link will open in a new window)Photo of King Yin Lei 9
 
(This link will open in a new window)Photo of King Yin Lei 10
 
(This link will open in a new window)Photo of King Yin Lei 11

跳至內容

Content Header

背景資料

   
地址: 香港司徒拔道 45號
地盤面積*: 約 4 910 平方米(包括戶外用地)
總樓面面積*: 約 1 735平方米
興建年份: 1937年
佈局:

景賢里建築群由主樓、副樓、車庫、廊屋、涼亭、游泳池等組成。

主樓基本上樓高三層,設有遊廊俯瞰庭院。主樓頂層及兩邊廂房均為歇山式屋頂。副樓兩層,由多個並聯式房間組成,以外廊相連,並用過道連接主樓。廊屋一層,兩端建四方形亭,中間以長廊相連,屋頂為四角攢尖頂及卷棚頂。涼亭一層,六角形平面,設入口兩個,屋頂為重檐六角攢尖頂。車庫兩層,地下停車,上層住人,屋頂形制為盝頂 (四傾斜的頂,中心部分平坦)。
土地用途: 「其他指定用途」註明「歷史建築物保存作文化、社區及商業用途」地帶
歷史評級: 法定古蹟
現行管理/ 用戶部門: 發展局文物保育專員辦事處
使用中或空置: 空置
平面圖: 此連結將會於新視窗開啟按此下載

* 上述的面積僅供參考。

歷史背景

景賢里原名「禧廬」,於1937年由岑日初先生及岑李寶麟女士興建。岑日初為廣東新會著名的殷商,樂善好施。1978年,大宅售予邱子文先生及其子邱木城先生,易名為「景賢里」。大宅於 2007年 8月轉售予上任業主。

景賢里是一個受遊客歡迎的拍照景點。多部電影曾在此取景,包括國際知名的電影《江湖客》(1955年)及本地製作的電視劇《京華春夢》(1980年)。

由於當時山頂一向是外籍人士聚居的地區,因此景賢里坐落的位置象徵當時華商階層的崛起,也展示高尚住宅區開始在半山區成形的本港早期歷史。


建築價值

主樓平面遵循嶺南傳統三合院式佈局,即主屋加兩側翼,門口朝南,南面建照壁,形成內院。與傳統建築不同的是兩翼稍為張開,使內院的空間得以擴闊。

主樓及兩翼的屋頂為傳統的歇山式琉璃瓦屋頂,飾有中國建築特有的屋面裝飾物,包括閣樓屋脊中央的一顆寶珠裝飾,以及「博古」風格的脊獸;沿屋頂邊緣的屋檐則有斗拱、額枋、雀替等以混凝土製造的中國建築裝飾。

主樓及副樓外牆以上乘的清水紅磚築砌。室內的地面鋪有雲石地磚、木地板,以及由嵌花馬賽克砌成的圖案。樓房各面的窗戶皆為中國圖案的鐵製格條和花崗石窗套。主樓各層正廳的大空間採用井格式樑系,地下的西側圓廳則為同心圓放射狀樑系,仿似宮殿式的藻井天花。

除傳統中式建築裝飾外,建築物亦採用了先進的建築技術,例如隱藏式的綜合地面排水系統設計,避免雨水沖擊建築物表面和擋土牆。此外,建築物採用鋼筋混凝土代替傳統的木結構屋頂構件。

這幢歷史大宅既具有豐富而細緻的中式建築特色,又在結構、用料和設計上糅合了西方建築風格,可視為具中國文藝復興風格的優秀建築物,反映了本港戰前中西建築藝術的巧妙設計和非凡做工。


建築物現況及修復工程

景賢里原為私人物業。當局在2007年9月初發現該址進行一些工程,以移除屋頂瓦片、石製器具及窗框。為免該建築物再受破壞,發展局採取緊急行動於2007年9月15日宣布景賢里為暫定古蹟及後2008年7月11日宣布為古蹟。行政長官會同行政會議於2008年通過一項非原址換地方案,以保存及活化該歷史建築物。根據換地協議,政府把毗鄰景賢里一幅面積相若的人造斜坡批予景賢里業主,供私人發展用途;而業主則把大宅和整個地段交予政府。業主除須按既定政策為換地支付十足市值地價,亦須斥資修復景賢里至古物古蹟辦事處滿意的程度。景賢里的復修工程於2008年9月展開,並於2010年12月大致竣工。政府隨後接管景賢里。


此連結將會於新視窗開啟景賢里圖片1
 
此連結將會於新視窗開啟景賢里圖片2
 
此連結將會於新視窗開啟景賢里圖片3
 
此連結將會於新視窗開啟景賢里圖片4
 
此連結將會於新視窗開啟景賢里圖片5
 
此連結將會於新視窗開啟景賢里圖片6
 
此連結將會於新視窗開啟景賢里圖片7
 
此連結將會於新視窗開啟景賢里圖片8
 
此連結將會於新視窗開啟景賢里圖片9
 
此連結將會於新視窗開啟景賢里圖片10
 
此連結將會於新視窗開啟景賢里圖片11