Jump to the beginning of content

Content Header

Batch I Historic Buildings | Virtual Tour on Batch I Historic Buildings | (This link will open in a new window)Pamphlet | Application Arrangements | Updates
Submission for 7 Historic Buildings | Result of Selection

Virtual Tour on Batch I Historic Buildings

Old Tai Po Police Station
   
  The Old Tai Po Police Station was built in 1899 shortly after the British leased the New Territories. It was the first police station and Police Headquarters in the New Territories. It operated until the new district police station in Tai Po started up in 1987.  
btn clicktoenter
content04 02 index pic01

content04 02 index pic02
Lui Seng Chun table header rightcorner
   
  Lui Seng Chun was built and owned by Mr. Lui Leung who was one of the founders of the Kowloon Motor Bus Company (1933) Ltd. In 1929, Mr. Lui appointed W. H. Bourne, a local architect specialized in designing shophouses (also known as “Tong-lau”) to construct Lui Seng Chun, and the building was completed in around 1931.  
btn clicktoenter

Lai Chi Kok Hospital
   
  The Lai Chi Kok Hospital site is comprised of an upper section and a lower section. The buildings in the lower section, which were built between 1921 and 1924, are comparatively with longer history than those in the upper section. The Lai Chi Kok hospital was originally a prison. It was converted into an infectious diseases hospital and a relief hospital in 1938. With the opening of the infectious diseases wards in Princess Margaret Hospital in 1975, the Hospital was then used for convalescent psychiatric patients and special skin patients. It was renamed as LCKH HACare Home prior to its closure.  
btn clicktoenter
content04 02 index pic03

content04 02 index pic04
North Kowloon Magistracy table header rightcorner
   
  The building was constructed around 1960 and is a representative example of civic buildings of the period. It has some social and historical values because of its role in the judicial development of Hong Kong in the post-war period. The Judiciary closed the court building down in early 2005 and the building has been vacated since then.  
btn clicktoenter

Old Tai O Police Station
   
  The Old Tai O Police Station was built in 1902 to supervise the Tai O area with a main duty of combating pirates prevalent in the neighbouring waters. At the beginning only six or seven policemen were stationed at the police station but by the year 1983 the number of police officers had increased to over 180. In view of the extremely low crime rate in the Tai O area the Station was turned into a patrol post only in 1996. The Station was left vacant since November 2002.  
btn clicktoenter
content04 02 index pic05

content04 02 index pic06
Fong Yuen Study Hall table header rightcorner
   
  Fong Yuen Study Hall, formerly the Chan Study Hall, was first built by the Chan clan of Tin Liu before the 1900s. The Chan Study Hall was rebuilt with Western influence and renamed as “Fong Yuen Study Hall”, literally meaning a nice place for study, in the 1920s to 30s. During the Japanese Occupation, the Japanese Army invaded Ma Wan and troops were stationed in Fong Yuen Study Hall before they transferred to other stations. The study hall was then suspended and was reopened after the war.  
btn clicktoenter

Mei Ho House
   
  The Estate originally consisted of 28 Mark I blocks and 1 Mark II block and Mei Ho House was one of the first 8 six-storey Mark I H-shape blocks completed in 1954. The H-shaped block is the earliest design of Mark I resettlement buildings, while Mei Ho House is the only surviving H-block in Hong Kong which bears the witness of resettlement and also the public housing history.  
btn clicktoenter
content04 02 index pic07

跳至內容

Content Header

第一批歷史建築 | 第一批歷史建築虛擬導覽 | 此連結將會於新視窗開啟小冊子 | 申請安排 | 資料更新 | 7 幢歷史建築的建議書 | 評選結果

歷史建築虛擬導覽

舊大埔警署
   
  舊大埔警署於英國租借新界後不久的1899年建成,是新界首間警署及警察總部。1987年,大埔新區警署投入服務後,舊大埔警署遂被棄用。舊大埔警署所在地實為從前英軍正式接管新界後,舉行升旗禮的地點。  
btn clicktoenter
content04 02 index pic01

content04 02 index pic02
雷生春 table header rightcorner
   
  雷生春為雷亮先生所建。雷亮(又名雷鴻維)是九龍汽車(1933年)有限公司的創辦人之一。1929年,雷氏向政府購入荔枝角道一一九號,並邀請擅長「騎樓」(或稱「唐樓」)設計的本地建築師布爾(W.H. Bourne)興建雷生春。建築物約於1931年落成。  
btn clicktoenter

荔枝角醫院
   
  荔枝角醫院由上、下兩區建築物組成。其中「下區」的建築物約於1921-1924年間落成,歷史比「上區」的建築為長。這裡原為一座監獄,於1938年改建為傳染病醫院及療養院。瑪嘉烈醫院啟用後,荔枝角醫院便逐漸淡出其傳染病醫院的角色。其後,醫院開始為需要長期護理的精神病及痲瘋病康復者提供住宿服務。荔枝角醫院於關閉前曾易名為「荔康居」。  
btn clicktoenter
content04 02 index pic03

content04 02 index pic04
北九龍裁判法院 table header rightcorner
   
  北九龍裁判法院建於1960年代,屬於該年代的典型公共建築。它見證了戰後香港司法制度的發展歷史,故具一定社會及歷史價值。司法機構於2005年初將北九龍裁判法院關閉。建築物現已空置。  
btn clicktoenter

舊大澳警署
   
  舊大澳警署於1902年落成。其時大澳鄰近海域海盜橫行,政府遂在這裡駐警,全力打擊犯罪活動。早期大澳警署只有6至7名警員在警署駐守,至1983年,駐守的警員已多至180名以上。鑒於大澳近年罪案率極低,大澳警署的規模經已縮小,1996年起只設巡邏警崗。警署自2002年11月起空置。  
btn clicktoenter
content04 02 index pic05

content04 02 index pic06
芳園書室 table header rightcorner
   
  馬灣島田寮的芳園書室1900年代前乃陳氏興建的「陳氏書齋」,1920至30年代重建為具西式風格的建築,並易名為「芳園書室」。日佔時期(1941-1945年),日軍曾短暫進駐書室。戰後書室重新開放。現時是馬灣唯一尚存的戰前小學。  
btn clicktoenter

美荷樓
   
  屋鸷原本包括了28座第一型大廈及1座第二型大廈,而美荷樓是8座最早期的6層高「H型」第一型大廈的其中之一,於1954年建成。「H型」大廈屬於第一型徙置大廈中最早期的設計,而美荷樓則為現時香港僅存的H型大廈,見證著香港徙置及公共房屋的發展。  
btn clicktoenter
content04 02 index pic07