Jump to the beginning of content

Content Header

  SITE BACKGROUND
   
 

The Central Police Station (CPS) compound comprises the former Central Police Station, Central Magistracy and Victoria Prison. They were declared as monuments under the Antiquities and Monuments Ordinance (Cap. 53) in 1995.

   
  THE PROJECT
   
 

In April 2007, the Hong Kong Jockey Club (HKJC) submitted a conceptual proposal of revitalising the CPS Compound to Government. The HKJC also proposed a donation to support the capital cost for renovation and development of the CPS Compound, as well as meeting the management and maintenance cost and the operational deficits.

Government's acceptance in principle of the HKJC's proposal for revitalising the CPS Compound was announced in the 2007-08 Policy Address on 10 October 2007. Subsequently, the HKJC conducted a six-month public engagement exercise from October 2007 to April 2008 to engage stakeholders through various channels and activities. During the public engagement exercise, the proposed new structure to house various performance and arts venues as well as its height and design attracted considerable discussion and quite diverse views. While some welcomed the conceptual design, others considered it too overwhelming and not in harmony with the surrounding environment.

In July 2008, Government entered into a partnership with the HKJC to take forward the project with the objective of achieving both conservation and revitalisation of this highly important heritage site and taking the opportunity to showcase in Hong Kong how new and sustainable uses can be integrated creatively into a historic site whilst preserving its overall historic and architectural significance.

In October 2010, the HKJC announced the revised design of the project. This revised design includes preservation of 16 historic buildings in the CPS Compound, and addition of two new buildings, namely JC Cube and JC Contemporary, used as an auditorium and an art gallery respectively. Construction works commenced in November 2011. The revitalised CPS Compound operates as Tai Kwun – Centre for Heritage and Arts, and is open to the public in phases starting from May 2018.

   
  REFERENCE
   
 

For more details concerning the CPS Compound and the project, please refer to the following websites -

Tai Kwun – Centre for Heritage and Arts
https://www.taikwun.hk/en/

Development Bureau
https://www.devb.gov.hk/en/issues_in_focus/conserving_central/The_Central_Police_Station_Compound/index.html

Antiquities and Monuments Office, Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Central Police Station - (This link will open in a new window)http://www.amo.gov.hk/en/monuments_53.php
Former Central Magistracy - (This link will open in a new window)http://www.amo.gov.hk/en/monuments_54.php
Victoria Prison - (This link will open in a new window)http://www.amo.gov.hk/en/monuments_55.php

Legislative Council Brief on Conservation and Revitalisation of the Central Police Station Compound, the Hong Kong Jockey Club's Revised Design, October 2010, the Development Bureau
(This link will open in a new window)http://www.devb.gov.hk/filemanager/article/en/upload/6202/LegCoBriefforCPS2010_10_11II.pdf

 

(This link will open in a new window)PowerPoint Presentation material on "Conserving Central" (Chinese version only) pdf

(This link will open in a new window)icon cc

跳至內容

Content Header

  建築群背景
   
  中區警署建築群包括前中區警署、中央裁判司署和域多利監獄。建築群在1995年根據《古物及古蹟條例》(第53章)列為法定古蹟。
   
  建築群項目
   
 

香港賽馬會(馬會)於2007年4月,向政府提交了一份活化中區警署建築群概念建議。馬會並建議以捐贈形式承擔中區警署建築群的翻新工程及發展費用,並會支付管理及維修保養費用以及營運虧損。

2007年10月10日發表的2007-08年度施政報告宣布,政府原則上接受馬會活化建築群的計劃。其後,馬會於2007年10月到2008年4月進行為期六個月的公眾參與工作, 透過各種途徑及活動諮詢各持份者。公眾參與工作期間,擬議建築物(容納多個表演和藝術場地)的高度及設計引起公眾熱烈討論,眾說紛紜。有人認同建築物的概念設計,亦有人認為設計過於突兀,與周圍環境不協調。

在2008年7月,政府與馬會訂立伙伴合作關係推展該項目,目標是同時保育和活化這個非常重要的文物遺址,並藉此機會展示香港如何以別具創意的方式,把新的和可持續的用途,融合到歷史遺址之中,同時保存該址整體的歷史及建築價值。

在2010年10月,馬會公佈了中區警署建築群修訂設計。修訂設計包括保留建築群內16幢歷史建築,及增建兩幢新建築物,即賽馬會立方和賽馬會藝方,分別作為綜藝館和美術館之用。建築工程於2011年11月展開。建築群活化後以「大館」-古蹟及藝術館營運,於2018年5月起分階段向公眾開放。

   
  參考資料
   
 

更多關於中區警署建築群及中區警署建築群項目的資料,可於以下網頁內找到 -

大館-古蹟及藝術館
https://www.taikwun.hk/zh/

發展局
https://www.devb.gov.hk/tc/issues_in_focus/conserving_central/The_Central_Police_Station_Compound/index.html

康樂及文化事務署,古物古蹟辦事處
中區警署 - 此連結將會於新視窗開啟http://www.amo.gov.hk/b5/monuments_53.php
前中央裁判司署 - 此連結將會於新視窗開啟http://www.amo.gov.hk/b5/monuments_54.php
域多利監獄 - 此連結將會於新視窗開啟http://www.amo.gov.hk/b5/monuments_55.php

發展局2010年10月,立法會參考資料摘要 – 保育和活化中區警署建築群, 香港賽馬會的修訂設計
此連結將會於新視窗開啟http://www.devb.gov.hk/filemanager/article/tc/upload/6202/LegCoBriefforCPS2010_10_11II.pdf


此連結將會於新視窗開啟"保育中環"的電腦投影片簡介資料 pdf

此連結將會於新視窗開啟icon cc